Open in App
  • Local
  • U.S.
  • Election
  • Politics
  • Crime
  • Sports
  • Lifestyle
  • Education
  • Real Estate
  • Newsletter
  • Sulphur Springs News Telegram

    Early voting for runoffs begins Monday, May 20

    By From Staff Reports,

    Early voting for runoffs begins Monday, May 20 Image
    • Wesley Miller, candidate Precinct 1 Commisioner
    • Mickey Barker, incumbent candidate Precinct 1 Commisioner
    • William 'Bill' Holden, candidate Precinct 3 Commissioner
    • Travis Thompson, candidate Precinct 3 Commissioner
    From Staff Reports Sat, 05/18/2024 - 06:12 Body

    Three offices will be decided in the Hopkins County Republican Primary runoff election, stemming from the March 5 election.

    Early voting for the runoff electionw ill be held will be conducted from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday-Friday, May 20-24 in Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Courtroom located inside Hopkins County Tax Office at 128 Jefferson St. in Sulphur Springs.

    Republican voters will be asked to select their choice of candidates for Hopkins County Precinct 1 Commissioner and Hopkins County Precinct 3 Commissioner, as well as a representative to serve in Place 12 on the State

    Board of Education.

    Hopkins County Precinct 1 Commissioner

    Mickey Barker, incumbent, and challenger Wesley Miller are vying to win the seat for a full four year term. Barker was first elected to the seat in 2013.

    Challenger Wesley Miller is a lifelong Hopkins County resident. He currently works as a foreman for Precinct 3.

    Hopkins County Precinct 3 Commissioner

    William “Bill” Holden, owner of B.T. Medical, and Travis Thompson, road and bridge maintenance crew member for Franklin County Precinct 3, each hope to win the Hopkins County Precinct 3 seat currently held by Wade Bartley, who is retiring from office.

    State Board of Education, District 12 member

    Incumbent and current vice-chair Pam Little of Fairview will face challenger Jamie Kohlmann of Dallas for the Texas State Board of Education District 12 seat. Little has served as an SBOE member since 2019.

    Early Voting

    Early voting locations are the Hopkins County Tax Office, Justice of the Peace offices and the Precinct 2 Courtroom, located at 128 Jefferson Street, Sulphur Springs, Texas. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, May 24.

    Election Day Voting

    On Election Day, Monday, May 28, polls will be open 7 a.m to 7 p.m. Voting locations throughout Hopkins County include: „ Como-Pickton CISD — 13017 State Highway 11 East in Como; „ Cumby Municipal Bldg. — 100 E. Main St. in Cumby; „ H.W. Grays Building — 413 Beckham Street in Sulphur Springs; „ Hopkins County Courthouse — 118 Church St. in Sulphur Springs; „ Miller Grove ISD — 7819 FM 275 South in Cumby; „ Hopkins County Regional Civic Center — 1200 Houston Street in Sulphur Springs; „ League Street Church of Christ — 1100 S. League Street in Sulphur Springs; „ North Hopkins ISD — 1994 FM 71 W. in Birthright;

    „ Our Savior Lutheran Church — 1000 Texas St. in Sulphur Springs; „ Paris Junior College Sulphur Springs Campus — 1137 Texas Loop 301 in Sulphur Springs; „ Saltillo ISD — 150 CR 3534 in Saltillo; and „ Sulphur Bluff ISD — 1027 CR 3550 in Sulphur Bluff.

    Expand All
    Comments / 0
    Add a Comment
    Most Popular newsMost Popular

    Comments / 0