Open in App

SEC Football Leadership Council To Meet This Weekend

By SEC Staff,


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Feb. 2, 2023)----- The Southeastern Conference Football Leadership Council, which consists of one football student-athlete from each of the SEC's 14 universities, will convene for its annual meeting at the SEC offices in Birmingham Friday and Saturday.

Agenda items for the group this weekend include a meeting with SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey, a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items, a conversation with SEC Chief Medical Advisor Dr. Katie O'Neal, and engagement with football officials on rules of the game, student-athlete/referee interaction and careers in officiating. The group will also review SEC student-athlete engagement opportunities.

The Football Leadership Council is one of three components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The other two components are the Men's and Women's Basketball Leadership Councils. Student-Athlete Leadership Councils for the sports of football and men's and women's basketball, along with the conference's longstanding Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff. The councils serve as a conduit of communication to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness and playing rules.

The student-athletes who comprise the SEC Football Leadership Council are:

DeVonta Smith (Alabama)

Cam Little (Arkansas)

Malcolm Johnson (Auburn)

Derek Wingo (Florida)

Jalon Walker (Georgia)

Eli Cox (Kentucky)

Mekhi Wingo (LSU)

Cedric Johnson (Ole Miss)

Hayes Hammond (Mississippi State)

Darius Robinson (Missouri)

Kai Kroeger (South Carolina)

Omari Thomas (Tennessee)

LT Overton (Texas A&M)

Ethan Barr (Vanderbilt)

Expand All
Comments / 0
Add a Comment
Most Popular newsMost Popular

Comments / 0