Helen Shear, Rylee Lamphere, Lauren Jones, KiKi Merkle earn top honors in local volleyball

Utica Observer-Dispatch
Utica Observer-Dispatch

Winter volleyball season included a lot of great play from players and teams in the area.

In the Center State Conference, three teams ( Canastota, Dolgeville and Mount Markham ) went undefeated in their division, while others ( Sherburne-Earlville, Adirondack, Cooperstown, Sauquoit Valley, Morrisville-Eaton, New York Mills and Remsen ) accumulated five or more division wins.

With the season coming to a close, Most Valuable Player, first team and honorable mention honors have been announced.

After finishing in first place in their respective divisions, Canastota's Helen Shear , Dolgeville's Rylee Lamphere , Mount Markham's Lauren Jones and Morrisville-Eaton's KiKi Merkle all earned MVP honors.

Here are all the players who earned CSC honors this season:

Jump to: Division I | Division II | Division III | Division IV

Division I

Most Valuable Player

Helen Shear, junior, Canastota

First team

Brooklyn Babcock, senior, Sherburne-Earlville

Brooke Congdon, junior, Canastota

Gracie Durant, junior, Canstota

Elayna Emery, senior, Clinton

Korey Matteson, junior, Canastota

Madison Morawiec, senior, Holland Patent

Ally Nichols, senior, Little Falls

Desirae Owen, senior, Sherburne-Earlville

Brooke Wollin, senior, Clinton

Honorable Mention

Anna Campbell, junior, Canastota

Emma Dooley, senior, Little Falls

Allison Henry, senior, Sherburne-Earlville

Marilyn Loiselle, senior, Sherburne-Earlville

Chelsea Lopata, junior, Clinton

Erica Racioppa, senior, Clinton

Grace Romeo, senior, Holland Patent

Hannah Rossi, senior, Holland Patent

Breeah Shaw, junior, Canastota

Makena Tooley, sophomore, Little Falls

Division II

Most Valuable Player

Rylee Lamphere, senior, Dolgeville

First team

Dakota Balio, senior, Frankfort-Schuyler

Julia Caiola, senior, Frankfort-Schuyler

Mackenzie Farquhar, senior, Dolgeville

Kaitlin Gallo, senior, Adirondack

Madisen Gorinshek, senior, Dolgeville

Kaitlyn Spann, junior, Adirondack

Adela Sokolar, senior, Utica Academy of Science

Izabella Vredenburg, junior, Herkimer

Raelynn Williams, junior, Dolgeville

Honorable Mention

Rachel Bellinger, senior, Adirondack

Olivia Cook, senior, Frankfort-Schuyler

Emma Flansburg, sophomore, Adirondack

Kalista Garcia, sophomore, Utica Academy of Science

Morgan Grippe, senior, Frankfort-Schuyler

Hannah Minquela, junior, Herkimer

Savannah Noel, senior, Utica Academy of Science

Gabi Rockwell, junior, Dolgeville

Kendall Wilcox, junior, Dolgeville

Division III

Most Valuable Player

Lauren Jones, senior, Mount Markham

First team

Abbie Ainslie, junior, Mount Markham

Trinity Bailey, junior, Mount Markham

Emma Boice, senior, Waterville

Sam Dee, senior, Westmoreland

Madison Hayes, senior, Cooperstown

Bailee Mott, senior, Sauquoit Valley

Chloe Poland, senior, Mount Markham

Morgan Sica, sophomore, Sauquoit Valley

Braeden Victory, junior, Cooperstown

Honorable Mention

Samantha Broedel, junior, Waterville

Elizabeth Dykstra, junior, Cooperstown

Lucy Hayes, senior, Cooperstown

Brooke King, senior, Sauquoit Valley

Mia Lazzara, senior, Westmoreland

Ella Luczak, senior, Sauquoit Valley

Peyton Noon, junior, Waterville

Noelle Placanica, senior, Mount Markham

Maddie St. Peter, senior, Westmoreland

Kestrel Zimpel, senior, Mount Markham

Division IV

Most Valuable Player

KiKi Merkle, junior, Morrisville-Eaton

First team

Raygyn Brundage, junior, Morrisville-Eaton

Michaela Downs, senior, New York Mills

Audrey German, junior, Morrisville-Eaton

Marissa Hefner, junior, Remsen

Samantha Paparella, senior, New York Mills

Sarah Payne, freshman, Morrisville-Eaton

Jennifer Rundell, senior, Old Forge

Olivia Stanford, senior, Remsen

Maggie Worobey, junior, Owen D. Young

Honorable Mention

Lauren Abrial, sophomore, Old Forge

Molly Bobnick, senior, Owen D. Young

Lily Comenale, junior, New York Mills

Hailey Cornish, junior, New York Mills

Amber Decker, senior, Remsen

Amarah Elholzer, junior, Morrisville-Eaton

Grace Frable, freshman, Owen D. Young

Rachael Kelley, junior, Old Forge

Lily Kimber, sophomore, Morrisville-Eaton

Evelyn Morgan, senior, Remsen

Kenny Lacy is a sports reporter for the Observer-Dispatch. Email Kenny Lacy at .

This article originally appeared on Observer-Dispatch: Helen Shear, Rylee Lamphere, Lauren Jones, KiKi Merkle earn top honors in local volleyball

Comments / 0

Comments / 0