View more in
Environment

Household Hazardous Waste

Posted by 
Oxnard, California
Oxnard, California
 2020-12-11

Program Description

In California, it is illegal to place hazardous waste in the trash or recycling bin. It must be managed in a way that ensures that it will protect human health and the environment. In Oxnard, residents have access to a FREE program to properly dispose of household hazardous waste (HHW).

Please note – state law restricts the amount of hazardous waste that can be transported at any one time to 15 gallons or 125 pounds of material.

Collection events are held the second Friday and Saturday of each month. Appointments are required and must be confirmed at least five (5) business days prior to the event date. To schedule an appointment, contact Clean Harbors, Oxnard’s contracted service provider at 805-987-0717 or use the “Schedule a Hazardous Waste Appointment” section in the Recycle Oxnard tool below.

Schedule

Saturday, December 12, 2020 Saturday, March 13, 2021 Saturday, June 12, 2021 Saturday, September 11, 2021

Friday, January 8, 2021 Friday, April 9, 2021 Friday, July 9, 2021 Friday, October 8, 2021

Saturday, January 9, 2021 Saturday, April 10, 2021 Saturday, July 10, 2021 Saturday, October 9, 2021

Friday, February 12, 2021 Friday, May 14, 2021 Friday, August 13, 2021 Friday, November 12, 2021

Saturday, February 13, 2021 Saturday, May 15, 2021 Saturday, August 14, 2021 Saturday, November 13, 2021

Acceptable Materials

Use the Waste Wizard below to determine if a specific material is accepted in the Oxnard HHW program. A partial list of acceptable materials is available below this tool.

Acceptable Items (partial list)

  • Aerosol sprays
  • Brake fluid
  • Engine cleaners
  • Fertilizers
  • Fire extinguishers
  • Fungicides
  • Gasoline
  • Glues and adhesives
  • Household batteries (alkaline or rechargeable)
  • Liquid cleaners
  • Mercury-containing items
  • Nail polish and remover
  • Oven cleaners
  • Paint (all kinds)
  • Paint thinners
  • Pesticides
  • Photo chemicals
  • Pool chemicals
  • Propane cylinders
  • Solvents
  • Waxes and polishes
  • Weed killers
  • Wood preservatives and finishes

Unacceptable Items (partial list)

  • Biological waste
  • Business waste
  • Radioactive materials
  • Medications
  • Controlled substances
  • Explosives/ammunition
  • Smoke detectors (return to the manufacturer for disposal)
  • Tires
  • Appliances (anything with freon)

Comments / 0

Comments / 0