Open in App
Cavaliers Now

Virginia Lacrosse Leads Country With Nine USILA All-American Selections

By Matt Newton,


The United State Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) announced its 2023 Division I Men's Lacrosse All-Americans and award winners on Thursday and the Virginia men's lacrosse program was well represented. UVA led all Division I programs with nine All-American selections, headlined by Thomas McConvey, who was named the Lt. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Outstanding Midfielder, and Connor Shellenberger, who became the second Cavalier in program history to be a three-time USILA First-Team All-American.

McConvey became the seventh Cavalier to be named the nation's top fielder and first since Jared Conners in 2019. Joining McConvey on the USILA All-America First Team is Connor Shellenberger and Cade Saustad. Shellenberger joins former UVA defenseman Ken Clausen as the only two three-time First-Team All-Americans in program history and Shellenberger has been a First-Team selection in each of his first three seasons playing at Virginia.

Xander Dickson, who broke the UVA single-season scoring record with 60 goals this year, was named a Second-Team All-American. The NCAA's all-time leader in faceoffs taken, Petey LaSalla earned a Third-Team selection. Payton Cormier, Cole Kastner, Grayson Sallade, and Evan Zinn were All-American honorable mentions, giving the Cavaliers their nation-leading nine USILA All-Americans.

Read more: Familiar Foes and Territory Await Virginia in Return to Championship Weekend

See the full USILA All-American Teams and award winners below:

Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player of the Year : Brennan O’Neill, Duke

Lt. Col. JI Turnbull Outstanding Attackman : C.J. Kirst, Cornell

Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Outstanding Midfielder : Thomas McConvey, Virginia

William C. Schmeisser Defensive Player of the Year : Gavin Adler, Cornell

Ensign C. Markland Kelly Jr. Outstanding Goalie : Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame

2023 USILA All-Americans

First Team

A – Brennan O’Neil, Duke
A – CJ Kirst, Cornell
A – Tucker Dordevic, Georgetown
A – Connor Shellenberger, Virginia
D – Gavin Adler, Cornell
D – Brett Makar, Maryland
D – Owen Grant, Delaware
D – Kenny Brower, Duke
D – Cade Saustad, Virginia
M – Thomas McConvey, Virginia
M – Matthew Campbell, Villanova
M – Sam Handley, Penn
SSDM – Payton Rezanka, Loyola
SSDM – Chet Comizio, Villanova
LSM – Roy Meyer, Boston U
LSM – Ethan Rall, Rutgers
FO – Jake Naso, Duke
G – Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame

Second Team

A – Patrick Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A – Xander Dickson, Virginia
A – Coulter Mackesy, Princeton
D – Will Bowen, Georgetown
D – Ajax Zappitello, Maryland
D – Alex Mazzone, Johns Hopkins
M – Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown
M – Alexander Vardaro, Princeton
M – Shane Knobloch, Rutgers
M – Eric Dobson, Notre Dame
SSDM – Connor Maher, North Carolina
SSDM – Beau Pederson, Princeton
LSM – John Geppert, Maryland
FO – Mike Sisselberger, Lehigh
G – Jack Fracyon, Penn State
G – Andrew “Knox” Dent, Army

Third Team

A – Tye Kurtz, Delaware
A – Matt Brandau, Yale
A – TJ Malone, Penn State
A – Chris Lyons, Yale
D – Chris Fake, Notre Dame
D – Mason Woodward, Marquette
D – AJ Pilate Army
M – Matt Traynor, Penn State
M – Brian Tevlin, Notre Dame
M – Garrett Leadmon, Duke
SSDM – Dante Trader Jr., Maryland
SSDM – Ben Ramsey, Notre Dame
LSM – Tyler Carpenter, Duke
FO – Petey LaSalla, Virginia
FO – Luke Wierman, Maryland
FO – Justin Wietfeldt, Michigan
G – Matthew Knote, UMass
G – Will Mark, Syracuse

Honorable Mention

A – Russell Menendez, Johns Hopkins
A – Payton Cormier , Virginia
A – Josh Zawada, Michigan
A – Michael Boehm, Michigan
A – Joey Spallina, Syracuse
A – Dyson Williams, Duke
A – Chris Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A – Brian Minicus, Georgetown
A – Andrew McAdorey, Duke
A – Ross Scott, Rutgers
A – Scott Cole, Lehigh
A – Vince D’Alto, Boston U
D – Cole Kastner, Virginia
D – Scott Smith, Johns Hopkins
D – Richard Checo, Lehigh
D – Jack Posey, Penn State
D – Cam Wyers, Loyola
D – Wilson Stephenson, Duke
D – Bobby Van Buren, Ohio State
D – Jackson Bonitz, Navy
D – Jake Piseno, Albany
D – Grant Ammann , High Point
M – Cole Kirst, Syracuse
M – Jake Morin, Army
M – Evan Plunkett, Army
M – Kyle Long, Maryland
M – Kevin Winkoff, Penn State
M – Matt Collison, Johns Hopkins
M – Thomas Greenblatt, Binghamton
M – Max Hewitt, Navy
SSDM – Grayson Sallade, Virginia
SSDM – Piper Bond , Penn
SSDM – Brett Martin, Johns Hopkins
SSDM – Evan Zinn, Virginia
SSDM – Grant Haus, Penn State
SSDM – Dylan Hess, Georgetown
LSM – Will Donovan, Notre Dame
LSM – Jack Stuzin, Yale
LSM – B.J. Farrare, Penn
LSM – Troy Hettinger, Jacksonville
FO – Zach Cole, Saint Joseph’s
FO – Will Coletti, Army
G – Michael Gianforcaro, Princeton
G – Chayse Ierlan, Cornell

No. 2 Virginia (13-3) battles No. 3 Notre Dame (12-2) in the semifinals of the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship on Saturday at approximately 2:30pm at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

See more Virginia men's lacrosse news and content: Virginia Men's Lacrosse on Sports Illustrated

See more Virginia sports news and content: Virginia Cavaliers on Sports Illustrated

To stay up to date on all Virginia Cavaliers sports news, follow CavaliersNow on social media:

Facebook: @CavaliersNow
Twitter: @CavaliersNowFN

Expand All
Comments / 0
Add a Comment

Comments / 0