Epic Games Acquires Bandcamp as ‘Fortnite’ Maker Expands Into Music

Click here to read the full article. Video-game developer Epic Games announced that it has bought Bandcamp, the online music store and community geared around independent musicians. Terms of the deal weren’t disclosed. “Fair and open platforms are critical to the future of the creator economy,” Epic Games, best known as the company behind battle-royale game “Fortnite,” said in announcing the pact. “Epic and Bandcamp share a mission of building the most artist-friendly platform that enables creators to keep the majority of their hard-earned money.” Bandcamp will play an “important role in Epic’s vision to build out a creator marketplace ecosystem for content,...
Picture for Epic Games Acquires Bandcamp as ‘Fortnite’ Maker Expands Into Music
The Verge

Epic Games is acquiring music platform Bandcamp

Epic Games is acquiring independent music storefront Bandcamp. The companies announced the news today, saying that Bandcamp would “keep operating as a standalone marketplace and music community” but use Epic’s resources to expand internationally and continue adding new features. An Epic blog post says Bandcamp will play...
Picture for Epic Games is acquiring music platform Bandcamp

Bandcamp Acquired by Fortnite Maker Epic Games

Bandcamp has been acquired by Epic Games, the video game and software developer behind Fortnite, Unreal Engine, and more. The digital music retail site and media platform announced the news today (March 2) in a statement on its website. “Bandcamp will keep operating as a standalone marketplace and music community, and I will continue to lead our team,” Bandcamp co-founder and CEO Ethan Diamond wrote in the announcement. Diamond continued:

3 views on the Epic-Bandcamp deal

After the acquisition, Bandcamp says it will continue to operate as an independent entity. Founder and CEO Ethan Diamond will remain in charge, and according to his blog post, Bandcamp Fridays – a day when fees are waived for artists – will continue as normal, with editorial arm Bandcamp Daily remaining intact as well.

Epic Games to buy artist-focused site Bandcamp, adding music to its ‘metaverse’

Epic Games, the Cary-based video game developer, said Wednesday it is buying Bandcamp, a popular music marketplace used by artists, for an undisclosed sum. Epic, the maker of the popular video game Fortnite, has raised billions of dollars from investors in recent years, and it has aggressively used that money to buy other technology companies, such as the makers of the Rocket League video game and the Houseparty chatroom app.

Bandcamp Friday picks: Singing praises of The Grease Traps, Oakland’s bouillabaisse of bump-and-go

On the first Friday of every month since March of 2020, Bandcamp has waived its revenue share of the website’s online music sales to help support the many artists who have seen their livelihoods disrupted by the pandemic. Imagine that, a tech-centered company putting their heads together for something besides trolling your socials with disinformation!

Acid Test: February 2022

Bandcamp’s outer limits continue to be a rewarding place for psychedelia, experimental club, noise, vaporwave, and the wholly uncategorizable. In each volume of Acid Test, Miles Bowe explores its far reaches to dig up hidden gems and obscure oddities. Looking back at this February, we marvel at the incredibly unique sound design of one of Chicago’s hardest working underground musicians, defiantly beautiful IDM from Kyiv, and an Austrian one-man-band’s bafflingly unique “pop and rock music for dancing.”

A Guide to Jazz Pianist Vijay Iyer

Few jazz artists have cast their net as widely as pianist Vijay Iyer in terms of song selection. Across his discography, Iyer has taken on his jazz heroes in Thelonious Monk and Steve Coleman to pop/R&B royalty in Michael Jackson and Stevie Wonder to modern glitch and hip-hop in Flying Lotus and M.I.A., often on the same album. To listen to a Vijay Iyer record is to hear the musical curiosity and omnivorous appetite with which he explores with different configurations, ranging from solo outings all the way to sextets.

Bandcamp's mobile app now supports song and album queuing

Bandcamp has always had a serviceable if unpolished mobile app for streaming the tracks you buy from its platform. However, one thing you couldn’t do before today was queue albums and tracks. The good news is Bandcamp has addressed that shortcoming of its software with a new update that’s available through the and .

The Best Metal on Bandcamp: February 2022

February’s finest metal releases include a long-awaited return by death metal masters, a study of the Indonesian genocide in searing black metal, a pair of albums inspired by 20th-century literature, and more. Immolation. Yonkers, New York. follow. . 00:10 / 00:58. It’s been a full five years since Immolation’s...