The fair began in 1938 and was held at facilities in Runge Park located in Arcadia, Texas. In the early 1980s, the County Fair had reached its limits of growth at Runge Park and plans began for a move to Jack Brooks Park located in Hitchcock, Texas. The move to Jack Brooks Park was completed in time for the 1984 Fair, and this is where the fairgrounds are currently located. The youth and the animal projects they exhibited are the foundation the Fair was built upon. This tradition continues today. FOLLOW THE LINK TO READ MORE>>>http://www.bayareaentertainer.com/articles/experience-the-tradition.