Tsitsi Dangarembga

EntertainmentLiterary Hub

Tsitsi Dangarembga has won the PEN Pinter Prize.

English PEN has awarded Tsitsi Dangarembga the 2021 PEN Pinter Prize, which honors the author of a significant body of literary work who, in the words of Harold Pinter’s Nobel speech, casts an “unflinching, unswerving” gaze upon the world, and shows a “fierce intellectual determination . . . to define the real truth of our lives and societies.” Dangarembga joins previous winners like Tom Stoppard, Margaret Atwood and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.
Picture for Tsitsi Dangarembga has won the PEN Pinter Prize.
Books & LiteratureThe Guardian

Zimbabwean novelist Tsitsi Dangarembga wins PEN Pinter prize

Tsitsi Dangarembga, the Booker-shortlisted Zimbabwean writer who was arrested last year in Harare while protesting against corruption, has been awarded the PEN Pinter prize, praised for her “ability to capture and communicate vital truths even amidst times of upheaval”. The prize is given by free speech campaigners English PEN in...
Books & Literaturebookforum.com

Tsitsi Dangarembga awarded the PEN Pinter Prize; “Jewish Currents” features a folio on Paul Celan

Tsitsi Dangarembga, author of This Mournable Body and Nervous Conditions, has been awarded the PEN Pinter Prize, which celebrates authors of a significant body of work which examines the world with, in Harold Pinter's words, an “unflinching, unswerving” gaze and “fierce intellectual determination.” Previous winners include Tom Stoppard, Salman Rushdie, and Chmamanda Ngozi Adichie.

Tsitsi Dangarembga: Zimbabwe has become a transactional society

People in Zimbabwe are living at the very edge of survival, the writer Tsitsi Dangarembga, has said. She told BBC Hardtalk that young girls are engaging in transactional sex just to be able to eat. “We no longer look at each as co-nationals, as people who have a common history...
Svetlana AlexievichLiterary Hub

Today, Tsitsi Dangarembga was awarded the 2021 PEN Award for Freedom of Expression.

The PEN Award for Freedom of Expression recognizes and honors a writer’s significant contribution and commitment to free speech around the world despite the dangers of political persecution. Previous winners include Nobel Laureate Svetlana Alexievich, Palestinian poet Dareen Tatour, and Ugandan academic and poet Stella Nyanzi, who was incarcerated for criticizing Ugandan president Yoweri Museveni, who has been in political power since 1986.