Onondaga County, NY Elections

Fayetteville, NYPosted by
Eagle Newspapers

Fayetteville elections to be run by county

VILLAGE OF FAYETTEVILLE – The Fayetteville Village Board adopted a resolution at its July 19 meeting stipulating that the village’s elections be conducted by the Onondaga County Board of Elections starting in 2022. According to Mayor Mark Olson, the call to alter the process stemmed from a desire to improve upon the level of efficiency […]
Picture for Fayetteville elections to be run by county
Onondaga County, NYurbancny.com

Democratic County Legislature Challengers Primed for Competitive General Elections

Syracuse, NY- After this July fundraising filing, the Democratic challengers have set up competitive races to flip the county legislature. This year seven of the 17 districts will have competitive races. Democratic challengers in districts 3, 5, 12, and 14 outraised their opponents. Most notably Dr. Sunny Aslam, running in district 12, outraised the current chair David Knapp $35,000 to $8,100. Along with Aslam, Matt Johnson (District 3) outraised his opponent $7,500 to $6,562, Jana Rogers (District 5) outraised her opponent $7,440 to $1,000, and Dr. Shanelle Benson Reid (District 14) outraised her opponent $12,581 to $3,403. There are also candidates who were evenly matched in fundraising efforts creating competitive general elections for November; Diane Dwire (District 6), Heather Waters (District 10), and Ryan Suser (District 11).