Gluten-free isn’t just a popular buzzword that’s tacked onto food packaging — it can be a lifesaver for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. What is gluten? According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, it’s a blanket term for proteins that are found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). Gluten acts as the glue that holds foods together and helps them maintain their shape. It can be found in a variety of foods — even those that one might not expect. Wheat, the most common source for gluten, can be found in breads and baked goods as well as soups, pasta, cereals, sauces, and even salad dressings.