8:00 A.M. – 12:00 NOON. THE TOWN MEETING WILL BEGIN AT 2:00 P.M. Absentee ballots are available at the Town Center.

Why I’m voting no on school budget

I’m a big proponent of our local schools and want our children to have everything vital for their education. But I’ll be voting no on the upcoming budget vote in the BRHS gym at 6 p.m. on Wed., June 23. Simply stated, a yes vote will unnecessarily raise our taxes...

Rzasa re-elected

All articles on the Dresden town warrant passed on Saturday morning, June 12 at the town meeting. Richard Ross served as moderator and Leah Bickford deputy moderator. Approximately 40 residents attended the hour and a half meeting in the fire station. Residents voted to accept $167,218 from the federal government’s...
Picture for Rzasa re-elected

Wiscasset Elects Heller, Jones

Wiscasset voters elected Terry Heller and Dusty Jones in a three-way race for two seats on the board of selectmen Tuesday, June 8. Heller received 247 votes, Jones 221, and William Maloney 207. Heller and Jones will serve two-year terms. The race was part of the annual town meeting by...

Newcastle Elects Leavitt Paz, Levesque, and Lind Selectmen

Voters reelected Joel Lind for a third consecutive term and elected newcomers Karen Leavitt Paz and David Levesque to the Newcastle Board of Selectmen during the annual town meeting by referendum on Tuesday, June 8. Four candidates ran for two three-year terms on the board: Lind, Leavitt Paz, Christopher Doherty,...

Rockland voters OK $33 million school budgets

ROCKLAND — Voters in Rockland June 8 endorsed, 105 to 65, a $33,047,900 budget to fund Regional School Unit 13. They also approved (click here for the RSU budget questions) Article 2, 137 to 33, to appropriate $300,000 for a school nutrition program;. Article 3, 125 to 44, to spend...

Crabtree, McDonald elected to Warren select board

WARREN — The Town of Warren voted June 8 on a series of municipal seats, highlighted by two select board openings. Below are the results of the municipal races. BOARD OF SELECTMEN, ASSESSOR, OVERSEER OF THE POOR – SEAT 3 – TERM TO EXPIRE 2024:. Richard M. Butler 100. John...

Giese elected to Thomaston select board

THOMASTON — The Town of Thomaston voted June 8 for a handful of municipal officials, the proposed RSU 13 school budget and a series of annual town meeting articles. Below are the results of the June 8 elections. Select Board Race. Charles Frattini - 97 votes. Diane Giese - 176.

Heller, Jones make selectboard

In a three-way race for two Wiscasset selectboard seats June 8, Terry Heller and Dusty Jones emerged the victors. Heller got 247 votes, Jones 221, and William Maloney 207, Town Clerk Linda Perry said. Voters passed the school budget 264-138; the article on creating a committee to study the future...

Fuller, Justice elected to Union select board

UNION — Voters in Union cast ballots June 8 for municipal officials and annual town meeting warrant items. To view a preview of what was on the ballot, click here. Below are the results of those cast ballots. SELECT BOARD #1. Adam Fuller: 247 votes. SELECT BOARD #2. James Justice:...

RSU 40 school budget voting results

Voters within the Regional School Unit 40 school district voted on its proposed school budget Tuesday, June 8. The communities of Waldoboro, Union, Warren, Washington and Friendship make up the school district. To view the complete budget preview article, click here. All budget items passed in Waldoboro. Precise numbers were...

Tarbox next Westport Island second selectman

Westport Island Town Clerk Julie Casson reported Tuesday night, Jeffrey Tarbox won the second selectman’s seat 169-106 over Bailey Bartlett. Gerald Bodmer did not seek re-election. In other results, Mary Coventry, unopposed on the ballot, won a three-year term on Sheepscot Valley Regional School Unit’s board and Casson said, with...

Two Vie for One-Year Term as Newcastle Selectman

Jacob Abbott and David Levesque are running for a one-year term on the Newcastle Board of Selectmen. The election will take place as part of Newcastle’s annual town meeting by referendum on Tuesday, June 8. The polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Clayton V. Huntley Jr. Station on River Road.

Damariscotta to Elect New Selectman

A newcomer to Damariscotta government is running for selectman and a recent appointee to the school committee is running for his first full term, both unopposed. Tom Anderson is running for the Damariscotta Board of Selectmen. Incumbent Robin Mayer, the current chair of the board, is not running for reelection.

Two Run for School Board in Dresden

Dresden voters will elect a representative to the RSU 2 Board of Directors on Tuesday, June 8. The polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Pownalborough Hall. The town has two candidates for the three-year seat: incumbent Kathryn Marseglia and Scott Silverman. Marseglia did not respond to multiple interview requests.
Lincoln County,

Waldoboro Voters to Decide A.D. Gray Question in Referendum

Waldoboro will vote by secret ballot on 46 warrant articles in the annual town meeting by referendum on Tuesday, June 8. Articles 45 and 46 on the ballot will determine whether voters favor the conversion of the vacant A.D. Gray School into affordable senior housing or the demolition of the school and creation of a park in its place.

Newcastle to Choose Two Selectmen from Four Candidates

Newcastle voters will choose two selectmen from a pool of four candidates during the annual town meeting by referendum on Tuesday, June 8. Joel Lind, the acting chair of the Newcastle Board of Selectmen, is running for reelection. The other candidates are Christopher Doherty, Karen Leavitt Paz, and Merle Parise. The top two vote-getters will win the seats.

Two Candidates Run for Second Selectman on Westport Island

Westport Island voters will elect a new second selectman on Tuesday, June 8. The incumbent, Gerald Bodmer, is not seeking reelection after 12 years in office. The town has two candidates for the seat. The polls will be open from noon to 6 p.m. at the historic town hall, 1217...

Waldoboro to Decide Contested Race for School Board

On Tuesday, June 8, Waldoboro voters will choose among three candidates for two three-year terms on the RSU 40 Board of Directors. Incumbent Sandra O’Farrell is running for reelection. Karen Wellman and Jeanette Wheeler are first-time candidates for the board. The polls will be open for in-person voting at the...

Three Seek Two Seats on Wiscasset Board of Selectmen

Wiscasset will elect two new selectmen Tuesday, June 8, and will pick among three candidates for the jobs. Selectmen Katharine Martin-Savage and Jefferson Slack are not running for reelection. None of the candidates, Terry Heller, Dusty Jones, and William Maloney, are from Wiscasset, but all are eager to serve the...